Red and white "About Us" script threaded through transparent eyeglasses

About Us

We are the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
As a pioneer in ophthalmology and vision science at the University of Wisconsin–Madison for over 50 years, the Department has built a strong, world-class reputation for leading research, quality patient care in an academic setting, and unique training programs for the doctors of tomorrow.


It builds daily with the power of a team that recites the mantra, “Why not?” It ends with our unwavering commitment to you and yours. As an exemplary leader in vision care, research, and scholarship – the University of Wisconsin–Madison Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences is the place for transformative impact. We encourage you to explore our new website and learn about our initiatives – new and sustained – that fuel our mission to save sight locally and globally.

—A Message from the Chair, Terri Young, MD, MBA

Our Leadership

Visionaries shaping the future in ophthalmology. Our leadership team cultivates a community of individuals dedicated not only to personal growth but also to the collective advancement of our field. This spirit empowers an environment where ideas thrive, collaborations prosper, and groundbreaking discoveries become possible. We are the force behind ophthalmic advancement and transformative eye care on a global level through leadership that focuses on serving its faculty, staff, and learners.

Explore Our Leadership

Daniel Knoch, MD; Chair Terri Young, MD, MBA; Andrew Thliveris, MD, PhD

Our Team

We are a tight-knit community, driven by a shared commitment to both individual and collective growth. We believe that our strength lies in our people, cultivating an environment where every member is empowered to flourish. Together, we dedicate ourselves to advancing patient care, groundbreaking research, and comprehensive education, envisioning a future where excellence and growth are our constant companions.

Visit Our Directory

A Call to Action

Visit our Giving page to support our mission in saving sight. Together, we can make a meaningful impact on the future of vision health.

Make a Contribution

Stay Informed

Sign up for our monthly newsletter and never miss the latest research breakthroughs and saving sight stories by having them delivered directly to your inbox.

Join Our Newsletter

Chair Terri Young standing with Bucky Badger and Jeffrey Levy