We are the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

Learn about our vision to save vision.

Team Overview

The University of Wisconsin Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences team of over 250 professionals works tirelessly at delivering exemplary eye care clinical services, providing outstanding educational learner experiences, and performing relevant, innovative research to address critical concerns in vision debilitating diseases. We became a division of the University of Wisconsin hospital in the 1920’s, and a formal department of the University of Wisconsin medical school in 1970. Our ophthalmologists, researchers, optometrists, opticians, administrative staff, technicians, nurse practitioners, and orthoptists are committed to you, and expert in their respective arenas. Our local to global collaborative efforts are of high impact, and far-reaching. Please join us in saving sight for all.

.

Faculty

Barbara A. Blodi, MD

Matthew D. Davis Professor, Wisconsin Reading Center Medical Director

Yasmin S. Bradfield, MD

John W. Doolittle Pediatric Ophthalmology Professor

Curtis R. Brandt, PhD

UW Medical Foundation Professor; Vice Chair of Research

Yanjun (Judy) Chen, MD, PhD

Associate Professor, Neuro-ophthalmology Service Chief

Amitha Domalpally, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor, Wisconsin Reading Center Research Director

David M. Gamm, MD, PhD

Professor, Director of the McPherson Eye Research Institute

Justin L. Gottlieb, MD

Professor, Retina Service Chief

Gregg A. Heatley, MD, MMM

Professor, Glaucoma Service Chief, Director of Quality and Improvement

Paul L. Kaufman, MD

Ernst H. Bárány Professor of Ocular Pharmacology, Department Chair Emeritus

Daniel W. Knoch, MD

Professor, Vice Chair of Education and Faculty Development, Director of Medical Student Education

Yao Liu, MD, MS

Assistant Professor

Mark J. Lucarelli, MD, FACS

Richard K. Dortzbach Professor of Ophthalmic Facial Plastic Surgery, Oculoplastic and Reconstructive Surgery Service Chief, UW Health University Station Eye Clinic Medical Director

Colleen M. McDowell, PhD

William and Phyllis Huffman Research Professor

Alexander R. Miranda, MD

Assistant Professor, Director of Informatics

Mihai Mititelu, MD, MPH

Associate Professor, Clinical Eye Research Unit Medical Director

Anna C. Momont, MD

Clinical Assistant Professor, Associate Residency Director

Sanbrita Mondal, OD

Clinical Adjunct Assistant Professor, Director of the Low Vision Clinic

Sarah M. Nehls, MD

Professor, Cornea and Anterior Segment Service Chief

Robert W. Nickells, PhD

Frederick A. Davis Chair of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences Professor

Heather A. D. Potter, MD

Professor, Ophthalmic Pathology Service Chief

Shilpa G. Reddy, MD

Assistant Professor, Wellness Director

Stephen K. Sauer, MD

Associate Professor, Comprehensive Ophthalmology Service Chief

Nader Sheibani, PhD

Professor, Retina Research Foundation Alice R. McPherson Research Chair

Kimberly E. Stepien, MD

Professor, Co-Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs

Andrew T. Thliveris, MD, PhD

Professor, Vice Chair of Resident Education, Veterans Affairs Hospital Service Chief

Terri L. Young, MD, MBA, FARVO

Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, Peter A. Duehr Professor of Ophthalmology, Pediatrics and Medical Genetics; Pediatric Ophthalmology and Adult Strabismus Service Chief

Administrative and University Staff

Angie M. Adler

Study Coordinator and Regulatory Specialist

amadler1@wisc.edu

(608) 265-7557

Hannah Baker, MA

Coordinator of Clinical Fellowships and Global Ophthalmology Initiatives, Clinical Adjunct Faculty and Faculty Pre-Promotion Oversight

hannah.baker@wisc.edu

(608) 263-4157

James M. Baliker

Senior Information Processing Consultant

baliker@episense.wisc.edu

(608) 890-0334

Kelsey Bartlett

Executive Assistant to the Chair and Faculty Promotions Coordinator

krbartlett@wisc.edu

(608) 263-9797

Wendy K. Benz

Senior Research Specialist

benz@rc.ophth.wisc.edu

(608) 262-8377

Kelly Boyd

CERU Study Coordinator

kmboyd@wisc.edu

(608) 265-4589

Karen Bradley, RN, BSN

Ophthalmology Clinic Manager, UW Health Clinics

Linda Callow, CPA, MBA

Department Administrator

lrcallow@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8070

Michelle E. Chizek

Senior Research Administrator

mchizek@wisc.edu

(608) 263-6072

Meghan Cigale

Payroll and Benefits Specialist

cigale@wisc.edu

(608) 263-5765

Darla Coullard

Study Coordinator, ERG specialist

coullard@wisc.edu

Pamela A. Cromell

Residency Program Coordinator

cromell@wisc.edu

608-263-5339

Andrew Dieu

Pre-residency Ocular Imaging/Ocular Pathology Fellow

dieu@wisc.edu

Tony S. Fairbanks

Inform Process Consultant

tony.fairbanks@wisc.edu

(608) 263-5703

Sarah Ferguson

Research Specialist

sferguson2@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8055

Christopher J. Geier

Director of Information Technology

cjgeier@wisc.edu

(608) 263-6641

Gjyzeli (Anthony) Genti

Pre-residency Ocular Imaging/Ocular Pathology Fellow

gjyzeli@wisc.edu

Stephany Georgeson

Honorary Associate, Fellow

Michael Hall

Software Developer

mhall25@wisc.edu

(608) 265-4640

Bianca Johnson

Marketing Outreach Coordinator

bljohnson26@wisc.edu

(608) 262-2110

Alexander W. Katz

Research Specialist

awkatz@wisc.edu

(608) 262-5751

Audra Keith

Administrative Support Assistant - Retina

amkeith@wisc.edu

(608) 263-9338

Michele M. Kempfer

Administrative Support Supervisor

michele.kempfer@wisc.edu

(608) 262-9092

Charlene Kim

Associate Scientist

ckim@wisc.edu

(608) 263-9466

Aaron W. Kolb

Assistant Researcher

awkolb@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8055

Amanda Lacy

Administrative Support Assistant - Oculoplastics

allacy@wisc.edu

(608) 263-4823

Sarah Lamartina

Research Specialist

smlamart@wisc.edu

(608) 265-8046

Tanya Lamontagne

UW Health Optical Operations

Inna V. Larsen

Research Administrator, Vision Core & T32 Administrator

ivlarsen@wisc.edu

(608) 265-2572

Kristin Larson

External Relations Coordinator

kllarson8@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8584

Allie Lippitt

Administrative Support Assistant - Glaucoma, Oculoplastics and Neuro-ophthalmology

alippitt@wisc.edu

(608) 263-4823

Zhe (Jason) Liu

Associate Researcher

zliu252@wisc.edu

(608) 265-3719

Cheryl Nagel, LPN

Ophthalmology Clinic Manager, UW Health Clinics

Lisa Nelson, CPC

Coding Coordinator

lnelson5@uwhealth.org

(608) 720-3231

Brittany Nelson

Administrative Support Assistant - Cornea and Retina

bnnelson2@wisc.edu

(608) 262-2515

Adam J. Paulsen

Associate Researcher

ajpaulsen@wisc.edu

(608) 263-4603

Brian Payne

Associate Research Specialist

bepayne@wisc.edu

(608) 890-0156

David Perez

IT Specialist

drperez2@wisc.edu

(608) 262-3214

Jennie R. Perry-Raymond

Clinical Eye Research Unit Administrator

jrperry@wisc.edu

(608) 265-4659

Patricia Peterman

Administrative Support Assistant - Pediatric Ophthalmology and Adult Strabismus

plpeterman@wisc.edu

(608) 263-6429

David A. Pillath

Graduate Medical Education Coordinator

dapillath@wisc.edu

(608) 263-1481

Susan Powers, RN, BSN, CNOR

Ophthalmology Clinic Manager, UW Health Eye Clinic - Rockford

Jenniffer R. Priebe

Administrative Support Assistant - Retina and Research

priebe2@wisc.edu

(608) 265-6546

Jenny A. Pulvermacher

Administrative Support Assistant - Comprehensive

japulver@wisc.edu

(608) 263-1480

Brianna Quam, MBA, SHRM-CP

Human Resources Manager - SMPH

blquam@wisc.edu

(608) 265-4335

Diana Renderos

Human Resources Business Partner - SMPH

diana.renderos@wisc.edu

(608) 263-1413

Alex Scaffidi

Medical Education Program Coordinator

aascaffidi@wisc.edu

(715) 347-4949

Tetyana Schneider, PhD

Director of Education and Faculty Development

tetyana.schneider@wisc.edu

(608) 262-5066

Steven Shen

Pre-residency Ocular Imaging/Ocular Pathology Fellow

sshen224@wisc.edu

Christopher M. Smith

Study Coordinator and Photographer

cmsmith37@wisc.edu

(608) 263-7169

Dana Voth

Administrative Support Assistant - Comprehensive and Research

dvoth@wisc.edu

(608) 265-3436

Jesse Ward

Ocular Disease Evaluator

jward5@wisc.edu

Justin Yonkie

Medical Coding Specialist

jyonkie@uwhealth.org

(608) 720-6514

Paul Zellmer, MHA

Director of UW Health Ambulatory Operations

Training and Education

We are proud to provide an exceptional educational program with translational, multidisciplinary collaborations at its core. Our mission of improving vision-related quality of life includes a commitment to transmitting and applying knowledge. The department’s clinical and research faculty are highly regarded experts in their fields, as well as talented educators with a passion for creating and sharing knowledge. Our educational programs are designed to reach YOU—friends of the department, professional learners, clinical and research professionals and patients.

LEARN MORE

Recent Publications

Our program has been cited as the top academic ophthalmology department in publication productivity per faculty member out of all ophthalmology departments in the US and #5 overall in publication output.

Acetoacetate enhancement of glucose mediated DNA glycation.

Jan 04 2021

PubMed ID: 33364448 Author(s): Bagherzadeh-Yazdi M, Bohlooli M, Khajeh M, Ghamari F, Ghaffari-Moghaddam M, Poormolaie N, Khatibi A, Hasanein P, Sheibani N. Acetoacetate enhancement of glucose mediated DNA glycation. Biochem Biophys Rep. 2020 Dec 17;25:100878.…

Read More

670 nm photobiomodulation improves the mitochondrial redox state of diabetic wounds.

Jan 01 2021

PubMed ID: 33392015 Author(s): Mehrvar S, Mostaghimi S, Foomani FH, Abroe B, Eells JT, Gopalakrishnan S, Ranji M. 670 nm photobiomodulation improves the mitochondrial redox state of diabetic wounds. Quant Imaging Med Surg. 2021 Jan;11(1):107-118.…

Read More

Reticular Pseudodrusen Characteristics and Associations in the Carotenoids in Age-Related Eye Disease Study 2 (CAREDS2).

Dec 30 2020

PubMed ID: 33387684 Author(s): Cleland SC, Domalpally A, Liu Z, Pak JW, Blodi BA, Bailey S, Gehrs K, Wallace R, Tinker L, Mares JA; Second Carotenoids in Age-Related Eye Disease Study Investigators. Reticular Pseudodrusen Characteristics…

Read More