We are more than just your eye doctors.

We strive to enable your best vision for as long as possible.

A Tradition of Care

Ophthalmologists from the University of Wisconsin have been caring for patients and studying eye diseases since 1925. Our staff includes opticians and ophthalmologists who provide routine and preventive eye care, as well as sub-specialists who are national leaders in treating glaucoma, diabetic retinopathy, eye tumors, macular degeneration and other eye diseases.

In addition to developing sight-saving tests and treatments, department members are also studying the way the eye changes with age, improving corneal transplantation and providing advanced training for ophthalmologists throughout the country.

Clinical Vice Chairs

Amy L. Walker, OD, MBA, FAAO

Clinical Adjunct Assistant Professor, Co-Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs

Kimberly E. Stepien, MD

Associate Professor, Co-Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs

Our Eye Care Provider Team

Barbara A. Blodi, MD

Matthew D. Davis Professor, Fundus Photograph Reading Center Medical Director

Yasmin S. Bradfield, MD

John W. Doolittle Pediatric Ophthalmology Professor

Yanjun (Judy) Chen, MD, PhD

Associate Professor, Neuro-ophthalmology Service Chief

David M. Gamm, MD, PhD

Professor, Director of the McPherson Eye Research Institute

Justin L. Gottlieb, MD

Professor, Retina Service Chief

Gregg A. Heatley, MD, MMM

Professor, Glaucoma Service Chief

Marilyn C. Kay, MD

Associate Professor, Vice Chair of Education and Faculty Development

Daniel W. Knoch, MD

Professor, Director of Medical Student Education

Yao Liu, MD, MS

Assistant Professor

Mark J. Lucarelli, MD, FACS

Richard K. Dortzbach Professor of Ophthalmic Facial Plastic Surgery, Oculoplastic and Reconstructive Surgery Service Chief

Mihai Mititelu, MD, MPH

Associate Professor, Clinical Eye Research Unit Medical Director

Anna C. Momont, MD

Clinical Assistant Professor, Associate Residency Director

Sarah M. Nehls, MD

Professor, Cornea and Anterior Segment Service Chief

Nayan R. Patel, OD

Clinical Adjunct Assistant Professor

Heather A. D. Potter, MD

Associate Professor, Ocular Pathology Service Chief

Shilpa G. Reddy, MD

Assistant Professor, Wellness Director

Stephen K. Sauer, MD

Associate Professor, Comprehensive Ophthalmology Service Chief

Kimberly E. Stepien, MD

Associate Professor, Co-Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs

Andrew T. Thliveris, MD, PhD

Professor, Vice Chair of Resident Education, Veterans Affairs Hospital Service Chief

Terri L. Young, MD, MBA, FARVO

Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, Peter A. Duehr Professor of Ophthalmology, Pediatrics and Medical Genetics; Pediatric Ophthalmology and Adult Strabismus Service Chief

Our Clinics