UW Faculty Present at 2024 AUPO Annual Meeting

University of Wisconsin Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences faculty members and staff will present at the 2024 Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology (AUPO) Annual Meeting in Austin, Texas, January 31 – February 3, 2024. The four-day event offers support, information, and leadership opportunities to department chairs, program directors, faculty members in other educational leadership roles, administrators, and program coordinators/managers.

Department Activity at AUPO:

January 31, 2024
7:00-8:00 AM: Tetyana Schneider, PhD: EE (Educating the Educators) Book Club, Discussion Moderator. Location: Moontower Hall

10:00-10:30 AM: Jennifer Larson, MD: Evaluation of the Ophthalmology Residency Case Discussion Curriculum (including work by Kathleen Schildroth, MD) and Longitudinal Evaluation of an Open Globe Curriculum (including work by Clara Violet Kuranz, BS), Poster Presentation. Location: Moontower Foyer

10:00-10:30 AM: Jacquelyn O’Banion, MD: Standardized Global Ophthalmology Curriculum for Residency Programs (including work by Yasmin Bradfield, MD, Hannah Baker, MA, Cat Burkat, MD, FACS; Jeff H. Pettey, MD, MBA), Poster Presentation. Location: Moontower Foyer

3:30-5:00 PM: Daniel Knoch, MD: Innovations in Residency Selection, Discussion Moderator.  Location: Waller Ballroom A-D

February 1, 2024
7:00-7:45 AM: Daniel Knoch, MD: Director of Medical Student Education Breakfast, Participant.

9:01-9:16 AM: Daniel Knoch, MD: Where the Waters Meet: Navigating Intergenerational Communication (part of President’s Symposium: Effective Communication for Leaders), Presenter. Location: Waller Ballroom A-D

10:45-11:45 AM: Daniel Knoch, MD: AAO Website Committee Meeting, Participant.

2:05-3:05 PM: Daniel Knoch, MD: Application Potpourri, Creator, Participant and Discussion Moderator. Location: Waller Ballroom A-D

7:00 PM: Daniel Knoch, MD: Director of Medical Student Education Dinner, Participant.

8:30-10:00 PM: Jennifer Larson, MD and Terri Young, MD, MBA: WIO’s (Women in Ophthalmology) Nightcaps & Nibbles, Participant. Location: Corrine’s Restaurant

February 2, 2024
10:33-10:35 AM: Terri Young, MD, MBA: RPB David F. Weeks Award for Outstanding Vision Research, Award Presentation. Location: Waller Ballroom A-D

1:30-3:00 PM: Daniel Knoch, MD: Ophthalmology Medical Student Education Paper Session, Participant. Location: Room 405

2:00-3:30 PM: Curtis Brandt, PhD, FARVO: How to Deal with Problematic Faculty (part of Research Director Grand Rounds), Presenter. Location: Rooms 403-404

3:35-4:35 PM: Daniel Knoch, MD: Directors of Medical Student Education Membership Meeting/Open Forum, Discussion Moderator. Location: Room 405

February 3, 2024
6:45-7:45 AM: Terri Young, MD, MBA: Table 8: Ways to Improve Philanthropy in Academic Ophthalmology Departments (part of Breakfast with Colleagues Networking Roundtables), Discussion Moderator. Location: Waller F

Dr. Knoch serves as the current president of the Directors of Medical Student Education Council. Dr. Young will become the president-elect of the Association of University Professors in Ophthalmology organization at this meeting.